Tell us what you think about our site...


General Election 2005

The results for the Parlimentary General Election 2005, held on Thursday 5th May 2005, are as follows:

Election Results

Full national results at the BBC website

Hackney South and Shoreditch

Hugh Baylis Liberal Democrats6,844
Ipemndoh Dan Iyan Green Party1,779
Monty Goldman Communist Party200
Meg Hillier Labour and Co-Operative Party17,048 (elected)
Jonty LeffWorkers Revolutionary Party92
John MossConservative Party 4,524
Benjamin Rae Liberal Party313
Dean Ryan Respect – The Unity Coalition1,437

Electorate: 64,826

No: Ballot Papers Counted: 32,237

Turnout: 49.7%

Hackney North and Stoke Newington

Diane Abbott Labour Party 14,268 (Elected)
Nigel Barrow Official Monster Raving Loony Party248
James BlanchardLiberal Democrats6,841
Mischa Borris Green Party 2,907
Ertan Hurer Conservative Party4,218
Nusrat Sen Socialist Labour Party296
David Vail Independent602

Electorate: 59,274

No: Ballot Papers Counted: 29,380

Turnout: 49.76%

The Council is looking for your feedback after the election on how the election process can be improved. We will also be holding a review of our polling stations, so if you know of any suitable venues please let us know.

To input into this review or give us any feedback, please email or call 020 8356 3233.

Back to top

Page updated: 25 Oct 2010 

Share this page

Share |

Do it now

Contact details

London Borough of Hackney
Hackney Town Hall
Mare Street
E8 1EA
Opening Times
The Hackney Service Centre is open Monday to Friday 9am to 5pm and closed Saturday and Sunday. Out of hours emergencies: 020 8356 2300.
Tel:020 8356 3000 (Hackney Service Centre)
020 8356 5000 (Switchboard)